Terrorism: US Plans More Travel Restrictions On Nigeria, 6 Others

The rating of Nigeria as a terrorist country has taken a further dip as the administration of the President Donald Trump of the United States of America (USA) plans to impose expanded travel restrictions on the country and six others.

As reported by an online medium, Per Second News, the new restrictions would apply to travellers and immigrants from Nigeria, Tanzania, Sudan, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Belarus and Eritrea, even as citizens of the affected countries could restrictions on some types of visas, including business and visitors visas.

It was gathered the expanded travel restrictions would be rolled out next week, as Washington officials, in justifying the new policy, said it was necessary to prevent potential acts of terrorism, as countries on the list don’t adequately vet their travellers to the US.

The US government, according to the report, was also targeting pregnant women visiting from these countries in the new rule due to be announced next week Monday.

According to government officials and immigration data “Birth tourists often come to the US from China, Russia and Nigeria and the new rule, it was gathered, would alter the requirements for B visas and tourist visas B1, B2.

Former chief legal adviser to the State Department, Jeffrey Gorsky, was reported to have said: “Very few people who gave birth in the US got a visa for that purpose. Most people already have visas and come in later.

“The plans to address the use of tourist visas for birth tourism were included in the latest version of the United Agenda of Federal Regulatory and Deregulatory Actions. Recent data from the US travel and tourism office shows Nigeria recorded the largest global- drop-off in visitors to the US.”


Recent Packages

Recent News

× Chat with us